The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced the 16 recipients of this year’s awards in music, with prizes totaling $195,000. The winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Julia Wolfe (chair), Annea Lockwood, David Sanford, Christopher Theofanidis, Augusta Read Thomas, Chinary Ung, and Melinda Wagner.  Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 300 members of the Academy. The 2023 Awards go to: Andy Akiho, Eve Beglarian, Shih-Hui Chen, Zosha Di Castri, Seare Farhat, Jordyn Gallinek, Luke Haaksma, Robert Honstein, David Ludwig, Nicole Mitchell, Roscoe Mitchell, Charles Peck, Ali Can Puskulcu, Peter Shin, Harriet Steinke, and Bethany Younge. The awards will be presented at the Academy’s Ceremonial on May 24, 2023 in New York City. Read complete details at