The American Society of Composers and Publishers has named 28 recipients of this year’s ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards, who will share $45,000 in prize money and be recognized at Merkin Concert Hall in New York City on May 17. Ranging in age from 8 to 30, they are Samuel Adams, Timothy Andres, Tyler Capp, Ryan Chase, Yie Eun Chun, Francisco Cortés-Álvarez, Jaehyuck Choi, Viet Cuong, Tamzin Elliott, Stephen Feigenbaum, Michael Gilbertson, Stella Gitelman-Willoughby, Tiange Huang, Takuma Itoh, John Liberatore, Loren Loiacono, Grant Luhmann, Yangzhi Ma, Sky Macklay, Maxwell McKee, Garth Neustadter, Michael D. Parsons, Brendon Randall-Myers, Matthew Ricketts, Gabriella Smith, Lawrence Suh, Renata Vallecillo, and Gabriel Zucker. The young composers were chosen by a seven-member jury: Derek Bermel, Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, Chen Yi, Doug Geers, Yotam Haber, and Aleksandra Vrebalov.

Posted April 2, 2013