Alondra de la Parra, Jeffrey Grogan, Laura Jackson, Kynan Johns, Carolyn Kuan, Ken Lam, Jonathan McPhee, and Alexander Platt will lead the Nashville Symphony on March 31 and April 1 during the Bruno Walter National Conductor Preview. The preview is a biennial event organized by the League of American Orchestras and one of its member orchestras. Conductors—chosen from 180 applicants by a panel of leading conductors, administrators, and artist managers—will perform at Schermerhorn Symphony Center before an audience of music director search committee members, artistic administrators, and artist managers from across the country. Each participant will have one hour of podium time, enabling orchestra officials and managers to witness rehearsal techniques and abilities. Since 1995, 62 conductors have been showcased in the Bruno Walter National Conductor Preview, and more than 50 orchestras have engaged these conductors for various appointments as a direct result of the preview. Alan D. Valentine, President and CEO of the Nashville Symphony, said he first became aware of Giancarlo Guerrero—now the orchestra’s music director—thanks to the 2001 preview.
Posted March 13, 2009