The Dallas Symphony Orchestra has announced a new project, “Masters of Film Music,” a multi-year initiative set to begin in the 2010-11 season. The series will bring in five top film composers for the orchestra’s pops concerts and will include a commissioned world premiere and multimedia career retrospective for each composer. Composers represented are James Newton Howard (The Dark Knight, The Fugitive), George Fenton (Gandhi, Dangerous Liaisons, Blue Planet), Theodore Shapiro (Marley and Me, The Devil Wears Prada), Michael Giacchino (The Incredibles, Ratatouille), and Harry Gregson-Williams (Shrek, X Men Origins: Wolverine). Three of the composers—Howard, Fenton, and Giacchino—will also be on hand to conduct the DSO for their concerts. During an evening entitled “All Time Great Music of Film,” the orchestra will perform the world premiere of a work by actor Anthony Hopkins, led by Music Director Jaap van Zweden; Hopkins has previously written music for films, including Slipstream and The Mask of Time. The press event announcing the project was streamed live today at

Posted November 6, 2009