“The Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra has announced its newest season and the five finalists for the music director,” writes Abbey Doyle in Saturday’s (4/6) Evansville Courier and Press (Indiana). “The candidates will be doing live auditions conducting shows during … the season…. One of the five finalists announced will succeed Music Director Alfred Savia, whose tenure began in 1989 and finishes at the end of the 2019-20 season. The new music director will begin their leadership of the EPO during the 2020-21 season.” The five finalists are Laura Jackson, Roger Kalia, Charles Latshaw, Michelle Merrill, and Scott Seaton. The season will include Gabriela Lena Frank’s Concertina Cusqueño, Ligeti’s Concert Romanesc, Arturo Marquez’s, Danzón No. 2, and Kodaly’s Dances of Galanta, as well as music by Beethoven, Copland, Mendelssohn, Mozart, Rachmaninoff, Sibelius, and Tchaikovsky. For his farewell concert as music director in April, Savia will conduct a concert version of Puccini’s opera Turandot. Five pops concerts will feature performances with circus-dance-theater Troupe Vertigo; singer/songwriter Tony DeSare; gospel songs with New Hope Baptist Church; a program featuring fight songs, sporting event theme songs, and music from sports movies; and Broadway, pop, and film music with Broadway singers Susan Egan and Doug LaBrecque.

Posted April 8, 2019