The 9th Quadrennial International Violin Competition of Indianapolis, underway from September 5 to 21, 2014, has announced the competition’s six finalists. They are Jinjoo Cho, Yoo Jin Jang, Dami Kim, Tessa Lark, Ji Yoon Lee, and Ji Young Lim—all except Lark (U.S.) from South Korea. The finals will begin on September 17-18 at the Christel DeHaan Fine Arts Center on the campus of the University of Indianapolis, where each finalist will perform the Mozart Violin Concerto No. 4 (K 218) with the East Coast Chamber Orchestra. The finals continue on September 19-20 at the Hilbert Circle Theatre, where each finalist will perform a Romantic or post-Romantic concerto with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, led by guest conductor Joel Smirnoff. Awards will be announced after the September 20 concert. Detailed information about the competition appears at the website, which is covering the competition and has posted a tongue-in-cheek “Funnel-ology” chart with the names and photos of the original 40 competitors (“The Fab 40”), the sixteen semifinalists (“The Stellar 16”), and the six finalists (“The Sweet 6”).

Posted September 17, 2014