The Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. has announced five recipients of its annual Kennedy Center Honors: soprano Grace Bumbry; jazz composer and pianist Dave Brubeck; rock musician Bruce Springsteen; actor Robert De Niro; and comedian Mel Brooks. The Honors Gala will take place on December 6 at the Kennedy Center and will be recorded for a December 29 broadcast on CBS. The Kennedy Center Honors medallions will be presented on December 5 at a State Department dinner by Secretary of State Hillary Clinton; President and Mrs. Obama will receive the honorees at the White House prior to the December 6 gala performance. Dave Brubeck is co-composer, with his son Chris, of Ansel Adams: America, a symphonic work that had its premiere in April 2009 with the Stockton Symphony Orchestra, one of seven commissioning orchestras that are performing the work throughout the U.S. during 2009 and 2010.  

Posted September 15, 2009