The 16th International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow and St. Petersburg, June 17–29, “will be a veritable Olympics for music,” writes Janos Gereben in Monday’s (3/18) San Francisco Classical Voice. “The Tchaikovsky comes once every four years…. The Grand Prix is $100,000 [with] additional first-place cash prizes of $30,000 for each category, and lesser prizes ranging from $20,000 to $2,000. There is a special vocal prize in memory of Dmitri Hvorostovsky with a cash award of $15,000 plus a performance in Krasnoyarsk, the hometown of the late singer…. As in 2015, the full Tchaikovsky Competition will be available live and on demand via a dedicated digital platform produced by…. The award ceremony and the gala concert of the laureates are to be held at [Moscow’s] Zaryadye Concert Hall.” Jury chairs include Clive Gillinson, executive and artistic director of Carnegie Hall (cello); Denis Bouriakov, principal flute of the Los Angeles Philharmonic (woodwinds); and Ian Bousfield, former principal trombone of London Symphony and Vienna Philharmonic and professor at the Royal Academy of Music in London (brass). “Russian Deputy Prime Minister Olga Golodets and Valery Gergiev, general director and artistic director of the Mariinsky Theater, will serve as co-chairs.”

Posted March 22, 2019