The Tenth Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards took place at the Times Center in New York City on May 21, honoring achievements by composers, performers, conductors, and other concert-music figures. Radio host and performer Peter Schickele hosted the ceremonies, and presenters included Derek Bermel, John Corigliano, Stephen Paulus, Suzanne Vega, ASCAP’s John A. LoFrumento, and Cia Toscanini. Award recipients included composer/educator Jack Beeson; the So Percussion ensemble; Francisco J. Núñez, artistic director and founder of the Young People’s Chorus of New York City; and Kristin Lancino, vice president of G. Schirmer, Inc. The 2009 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards were given to 39 composers, who share prizes of approximately $45,000; an additional eight composers received honorable mentions. The 2009 ASCAP composer/judges were Samuel Adler, Eve Beglarian, Steven Burke, Daniel Felsenfeld, Charles Fussell, Michael Gordon, and Melinda Wagner. 
The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers is a non-profit performance rights organization that protects its members’ musical copyrights by monitoring public performances of their music. A complete list of honorees can be found here.

Posted May 22, 2009