“Eight members of the Minnesota Orchestral Association board have resigned in the wake of last week’s announcement that CEO and President Michael Henson had stepped down,” writes Graydon Royce in Friday’s (3/28) Star Tribune (Minneapolis). “The departures represent just more than 10 percent of the 77-member board.” In addition to Teri E. Popp, a Wayzata attorney and member of the board’s executive committee, those resigning include James Lawrence, Jack Farrell, Gregory Pulles, John P. Whaley, David Wichmann, Timothy O’Brien, and Anne W. Miller. “ ‘This has been a difficult time for the Minnesota Orchestra, as we emerge from a long labor dispute and face challenging issues,’ [Board Chairman Gordon] Sprenger said in a statement. ‘I was disappointed to receive any resignations…. I hope we are able to get some to reconsider, but I respect their opinions and decisions.’ While the eight voiced disenchantment with Henson’s departure, they appeared to be more upset with the process that led up to it…. Henson will leave the job in August, as part of a negotiated package approved March 20 by a deeply divided board…. The orchestra is in talks with former music director Osmo Vänskä…. It’s not known what position is being offered by the board.”

Posted March 31, 2014