Through its First Music program, the New York Youth Symphony has commissioned seven young composers to write works for its 2012-13 season: Gabriel Zucker, Paul Dooley, John Glover, Andrew Evans McManus, Michael Conrad, Casey Dickey, and Christopher Zuar. The works will be premiered throughout the season—the 50th for NYYS—by musicians in NYYS’s orchestral and jazz ensembles at Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium; the Allen Room and Dizzy’s Club at Jazz at Lincoln Center; and Carnegie’s Weill Recital Hall.  Zucker, Dooley, and Glover will write works for full orchestra; McManus for chamber orchestra; and Conrad, Dickey, and Zuar for jazz ensemble. Among the composers on the jury that selected the composers were Steven Mackey, Daniel Felsenfeld, Judd Greenstein, and Joshua Gersen. Previous winners of First Music commissions include Augusta Read Thomas, Michael Torke, Kevin Puts, and Derek Bermel. For more information on the First Music program visit

Posted April 25, 2012