The Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra and Nashville Symphony are among the orchestras recently releasing details of their 2011-12 seasons. In Cincinnati, pianist Lang Lang, conductor Rafael Frübeck de Burgos, and composer Philip Glass will serve as the orchestra’s three creative directors, each responsible for a subscription series, while the organization conducts a search to replace Paavo Järvi, whose final season as Cincinnati’s music director ends in May 2011. The CSO season will feature the world premiere of Glass’s Cello Concerto, with soloist Matt Haimovitz, led by Dennis Russell Davies. Frübeck de Burgos will lead two concerts; also scheduled to appear in Cincinnati are Julian Kuerti, Giancarlo Guerrero, Kristjan Järvi, Pinchas Steinberg, Andrew Grams John Morris Russell, Pablo Heras-Casado, Juanjo Mena, Jun Märkl, John Storgårds, Xian Zhang, Ludovic Morlot, Michael Francis, Nicola Luisotti, Stéphane Denève, Juraj Valcuha, and Long Yu. The Nashville Symphony’s 2011-12 season will open on September 9 with Music Director Giancarlo Guerrero leading an all-Dvorák gala concert at the newly restored Schermerhorn Symphony Center, featuring soloist Yo-Yo Ma; the season concludes on June 2 with Orff’s Carmina Burana. Other season highlights include the world premieres of Béla Fleck’s Concerto for Banjo, with the composer as soloist; Richard Danielpour’s Darkness in the Ancient Valley, with soprano Hila Plitmann as soloist; and Terry Riley’s Concerto for Electric Violin, with soloist Tracy Silverman. The NSO will record the Danielpour work and two works by Roberto Sierra during the season, for future release on Naxos.

Posted February 8, 2011