The next International Tchaikovsky Competition, to be held in Moscow from June 14 to July 2, 2011, will be bound by new set of rules, regulations, and a voting system designed to assure fairness, openness, and transparency. Valery Gergiev, recently appointed as the competition’s chairman, will assemble four juries, and many of the new rules will conform to those used by the Van Cliburn International Competition. Richard Rodzinski, president emeritus of the Van Cliburn Foundation, is serving as senior advisor to the Tchaikovsky’s Competition’s organizing committee; also on that committee are composer Rodion Shchedrin; pianist Denis Matsuev; and co-chairpersons Alexander Avdeev (Russian Minister of Culture) and Lyudmila Shvetsova (first deputy to the Mayor of Moscow). The competition will award cash prizes, ranging from 3,000 euros to 20,000 euros, to the top five competitors in each discipline of piano, violin, cello, and to each of the top four competitors in the men’s and women’s solo vocal categories. For the first time, winners of the competition will perform with the Mariinsky Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra. The deadline for entries is December 1, 2010; more information is available at the competition’s preliminary website is

Posted January 5, 2010