Ten emerging composers are being spotlighted in 2018 EarShot New Music Readings presented this winter and spring by the Fort Wayne Philharmonic (Feb. 7, 2018), Charlotte Symphony Orchestra (March 1, 2018), and Jacksonville Symphony (April 20, 2018). The selected composers and compositions for Fort Wayne Philharmonic were Nathan Kelly (Redwood), Sohwa Lee (Palindrome), and Robert Rankin (Nijinsky Dances). For the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra, the selected composers and compositions were Niloufar Iravani (Fantasy), Jihyun Kim (At Dawn), and Felipe Nieto (Artesania Sonora). On April 20, Music Director Courtney Lewis will conduct the Jacksonville Symphony in new works by Nicholas Bentz (E.W. Korngold Goes to Kikkatsu), Will Healy (Kolmanskop), Ursula Kwong-Brown (Night & Day), and Meng Wang (Blooming in the Long Dark Winter’s Night). Performances are the culmination of a series of private readings, feedback sessions, and work with mentor composers. EarShot is a partnership between American Composers Orchestra, League of American Orchestras, American Composers Forum, and New Music USA.
Posted March 21, 2018