The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced eighteen recipients of its annual music awards, which total $225,000. They are William Dougherty, Gabriela Frank, Annie Gosfield, Yotam Haber, Gabriel Kahane, Alexis Lamb, Lei Liang, Wang Lu, Shawn Okpebholo, Ehud Perlman, Frances Pollock, Narong Prangcharoen, David Sanford, Juri Seo, Tyshawn Sorey, Joel Thompson, Shelley Washington, and Trevor Weston. Winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Chen Yi (chair), Robert Beaser, Martin Bresnick, Stephen Hartke, George Lewis, Shulamit Ran, and Julia Wolfe. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 300 members of the Academy. The awards will be presented virtually on May 19, 2021. The American Academy of Arts and Letters was founded in 1898 as an honor society of the country’s leading architects, artists, composers, and writers. The Academy seeks to foster and sustain an interest in literature, music, and the fine arts by administering over 70 awards and prizes, exhibiting art and manuscripts, funding performances of new works of musical theater, and purchasing artwork for donation to museums across the country.