Seven orchestras have been admitted into the fourth class of Institutional Vision, a program of the League of American Orchestras: the Albany Symphony, Louisville Orchestra, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, South Carolina Philharmonic, Spokane Symphony Orchestra, Syracuse Symphony Orchestra, and the Youth Orchestras of San Antonio. Institutional Vision is a three-year program for seven orchestras eager to focus on big-picture issues and enact major institutional change. The program is designed for teams of executive directors, board members, and key artistic leaders. Faculty for Institutional Vision 4 are Thomas W. Morris, former executive director, The Cleveland Orchestra and artistic director, Ojai Music Festival; David Nygren, governance consultant, vice chair, BoardSource; Lowell Noteboom, former board chair, Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra and board chair, League of American Orchestras. 

Posted March 24, 2009