Seven emerging composers have been selected to participate in the Minnesota Orchestra’s sixteenth annual Composer Institute in Minneapolis from January 14 to 18, 2019. They are TJ Cole (Lawrenceville, GA); Viet Cuong (Marietta, GA); Jonathan Cziner (New York City); Will Healy (Pelham, N.Y.); Matthew Ricketts (New York City); Connor Elias Way (Lilburn, GA); and Alyssa Weinberg (Dix Hills, N.Y). The selected composers will be in Minneapolis from January 14 to 18 for rehearsals, seminars and mentoring sessions, culminating in a public performance of their works on January 18, with Music Director Osmo Vänskä conducting the Minnesota Orchestra. The program will include TJ Cole’s Nightscape, Viet Cuong’s Moxie, Jonathan Cziner’s Resonant Bells, Will Healy’s Kolmanskop, Matthew Ricketts’s Melodia for Piano and Orchestra, Connor Elias Way’s Over Collapsing Cities of Steel, and Alyssa Weinberg’s in somnis. The institute, in its fifth year under the direction of composer Kevin Puts, was founded in 2002. It is co-presented with the American Composers Forum.

Posted July 11, 2018