The 2011 Mizzou New Music Summer Festival in Columbia, Missouri is set to take place this year from July 11 to 16, featuring the works of eight resident composers performed by the resident ensemble Alarm Will Sound, led by artistic director Alan Pierson. This year’s resident composers are Kari Besharse, David Biedenbender, Patrick David Clark, Michael-Thomas Foumai, Yotam Haber, Clint Needham, Steven Snowden, and Liza White; guest composers will be Roger Reynolds and Anna Clyne. Resident composers will receive compositions lessons from Reynolds and Clyne, and their works will be premiered and recorded. In addition to four ticketed concerts, the festival will include several free public events, with presentations by resident and guest composers, an instrumentation workshop by Alarm Will Sound, and several dress rehearsals. The Mizzou New Music Summer Festival, established in 2010, is part of the Mizzou New Music Initiative at the University of Missouri’s School of Music.

Posted July 8, 2011