New England Conservatory has announced the ten members chosen for the next class of the Sistema Fellows Program, in its fifth year in 2013-14. They are Amelia Downs, Ayriole Frost, Beverly Hiong, Eriel Huang, Tatjana Merzyn, Megan Moran, Hana Morford, Ricki Nelson, Aubree Weiley, and Clara Yang. This year’s class members range from instrumentalists, conductors, and music teachers to composers, concert curators, and orchestra administrators. The Sistema Fellows Program (formerly the Abreu Fellows Program) is a one-year certificate program intended to prepare young musicians to become leaders in the El Sistema movement in the U.S. and abroad. It combines intensive seminars and field work at El Sistema-inspired organizations in the U.S., followed by a one-month residency in Venezuela, where the El Sistema movement was founded. More information about the Sistema Fellows Program is available here. Read Kathryn Wyatt’s first-person story about the Sistema Fellows Program in the January-February 2010 issue of Symphony. Also look for an article about U.S.-based programs inspired by El Sistema in the next issue of Symphony.

Posted June 11, 2013