At its fourteenth annual Concert Music Awards on May 17, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers will honor four individuals for their contributions in the field of American concert music. The 2013 Concert Music Awards honorees are composer Tania León, founder and director of the Composers Now Festival; bassist, composer, and educator Jon Deak, founder and director of Very Young Composers International; Time Out New York Music Editor Steve Smith; and composer Morton Gould (1913-96), who is being remembered in his centenary year. Peter Schickele will host a ceremony honoring the four at Merkin Concert Hall in New York City. Also being presented with awards at the May 17 ceremony are this year’s 2013 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards winners, who were named in April.

Posted May 15, 2013