KATHERINE BALCH has been named to a three-year term as Young American Composer-in-Residence at the California Symphony in Walnut Creek, effective August 1, 2017.

The Georgia Symphony Orchestra, based in Cobb County northwest of Atlanta, has appointed SHERI BRANTE development director

THEODORE J. BRUTTOMESSO JR. has been appointed capital campaign manager at the Hartford (Conn.) Symphony Orchestra.

The Boston Symphony Orchestra has announced the appointment of JAMES BURTON as BSO choral director and conductor of the BSO-affiliated Tanglewood Festival Chorus.

CONNER GRAY COVINGTON has been named assistant conductor of the Utah Symphony, effective in September 2017.

The Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra has appointed KRISTIN CUTLER director of communications.

California’s Santa Rosa Symphony has named NATHAN DUCKWORTH development associate and ANN HUTCHINSON marketing associate.

KEITH ELDER has been named vice president and general manager at Colorado’s Aspen Music Festival and School.

The East Texas Symphony Orchestra, based in Tyler, has appointed VANESSA GARDNER executive director.

STACY GARROP has been named composer-in-residence with the Champaign-Urbana (Ill.) Symphony Orchestra, a new post at the orchestra created through Music Alive, a program of the League of American Orchestras and New Music USA.

Indiana’s Muncie Symphony Orchestra has appointed NOELLE TRETICK GOSLING concertmaster.

NATALIE HELM has been named principal cello in the Sarasota (Fla.) Orchestra.

Indiana’s Carmel Symphony Orchestra has appointed MARC HUBER development director.

The Cliburn, presenter of the quadrennial Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth, Texas, has announced the election of JEFF KING to succeed CARLA KEMP THOMPSON as chairman of the Board of Directors in September 2017.

Ohio’s Cleveland Pops Orchestra has announced two staff appointments: LYNN KRAUSE, chief development officer; and MICHAEL DUNIEC, director of social media and executive assistant to the president/CEO.

SUSAN LAPE has been named executive director of Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras. BRIAN BAXTER has been promoted from director of operations to the newly created post of chief operating officer.

The Houston Symphony has named JIMMY LÓPEZ composer-in-residence for the 2017-18 and 2018-19 seasons.

CHRISTOPHER MARTIN has been appointed principal trumpet at the New York Philharmonic, where he holds the Paula Levin Chair.

The Florida Orchestra has appointed DEREK MOSLOFF principal viola.

California’s San Diego Symphony has appointed CHRIS MUÑOZ to the newly created post of vice president of operations and general manager.

At the San Luis Obispo (Calif.)  Symphony, ABRAHAM PEREZ has been named music education director.

DAVID ROBERTSON will step down as music director of the St. Louis Symphony following the expiration of his current contract, which runs through the 2018-19 season.

The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra has named SAMUEL SCHLOSSER principal trombone.

KATIE SMITH has been appointed executive director of the Paducah Symphony Orchestra in Kentucky.

Chicago’s Grant Park Music Festival has announced the appointment of STEPHEN R. SMITH as board chair.

KRISTINE SPENSIERI has been appointed executive director of the American Classical Orchestra, a period-instrument ensemble in New York City.

Canada’s Vancouver Symphony Orchestra has announced the appointment of OTTO TAUSK as music director, effective July 1, 2018.

MIKE WALTHER has been appointed executive director of Pennsylvania’s Johnstown Symphony Orchestra.

The American Composers Orchestra in New York City has named EDWARD YIM president. He succeeds MICHAEL GELLER, who stepped down from the post following a 20-year tenure.